OpTicZone

Sydney Animania 2008: Day 1

Posted on: August 26, 2008

Well, it’s that time of year again where the biggest Anime and Japanese culture festival descends on Sydney. I say it’s big because it’s the only convention that goes on twice a year and it’s always mid-year where it’s spread across both days on the weekend. What’s different about this year compared to the last previous years? New location and for the first time in Australia, one of the preliminary rounds of the World Cosplay Summit 2008 is held here in Sydney. I think the move was to cater more people and to allow additional space to display past and present cosplay outfits throughout the hall. More detail on that later on.

So I made my way to Australian Technology Park on the weekend. When I arrived at around 9.40am, the place was pretty packed already. Luckily I pre-registered last month so the pre-rego line wasn’t as long as the door sales line. I’m surprised not many people pre-registered or maybe they just forgot because I’m the nerdy one that writes it down. xD

Shot this near the front of the line. Still many ppl lining up.

Shot this near the front of the line. Still many ppl lining up.

Soon afterwards, I found M12 already taking pictures and some notes in preparation for his article. Man, that guy is a machine. I thought I was the early one but he has been here already since 9am. Also, I managed to meet up with Reijin as well. It was our first meeting and to my surprise, he was a not so far behind me. ^^

3

One of the frist cosplay shots when I walked in. It mikuru :3

Well, just like SMASH!, we spent the first few hours walking around the huge warehouse and checking out the stallholders they have available and what events were happening at the moment. Some events they had during that day was the Haruhi Dance Lessons, some RMB & Hip Hop dance shows which most of them occurred on stage, an artist contest where 2 participants battle it out to see who can doddle the quickest and a few more activities where I can’t remember well. Along the way, I was busy snapping up photo’s on cosplayers and past and present cosplay outfits displayed near the front of the entrance. This is the first time they displayed cosplay outfits at the event but that sort of came at no surprise as the WCS (World Cosplay Summit) is here after all.


Haruhi Dance lesson.
(A bit blurry so talk to M12 if you have a problem about quality)

Past Cosplay oufits on display

Past Cosplay oufits on display

This one is Yuna from FFX. I like wedding dresses. ^^

This one is Yuna from FFX. I like wedding dresses. ^^

Some weapon props on display as well

Some weapon props on display as well

Guess where the cat from? xD

Guess where the cat from? xD

Most of the stallholders here were small community groups selling their fan made merchandises. Some ranged from bookmarks to badges to posters. There was 1 or 2 stores who were selling plushes and a few figures but most of their items were anime accessories like for eg. braclets, keychains and other misc. items. Madman had the biggest stall as they brought most of their DVDs here.

Madman booth

Madman booth

Madman was promoting Code Geass. One of the many licensed here.

Code Geass banner. One of the many series distributed here.

Hallway of Stallholders.

Hallway of Stallholders.

The game area was packed as usual but this time, I didn’t participate in any tournaments. I just couldn’t be bothered to participate after what happened at SMASH! and besides, I don’t intend to play games at a convention as I do that at home anyway.

Gaming area

Gaming area

Before the main cosplay event, M12 and I went outside for lunch. As usual, the line for the food stalls were packed and there was at least a 20mins wait before you could be served. In addition, the prices aren’t that cheap either. Well, considering it’s a convention, it’s the perfect time to rank in those profits. Surprising, I saw the same fried noodle stall here this year. I had their fried noodles last year and when I came home, I was vomitting for the next 2 days. It was not a good feeling. I warned M12 not to have them as there’s likely a touch of ‘rat poison’ in every dish. lol

Yoshi back. This time, he brought some friends along.

Yoshi back. This time, he brought some friends along.

Unlike last year where it was held at the Town Hall Cathedral, which was in the centre of the city and eatery places are found at almost every corner, this place has none. Seriously, even though the location was very spacious, the suburb is half empty. There’s nothing but buildings and parkland and there wasn’t a single fast food restaurant near by either. I reckon the organisers planned this as they are forcing us to eat their food within the convention but that didn’t stop me in a hunt to find reasonable price food. Luckily, I found a cafe near a corner of the street and I had a baguette for $7.50. It was tasty, cheap and healthy in my opinion. ^^

Some Hip Hop on stage.

Some Hip Hop on stage.

When the main cosplay event started, M12 headed to the front row to take pictures for his article. He had a media pass aka. VIP pass so that gave him front row seats to the event. I was standing at the back as most of the seats was taken already. Half way through the event, I wondered off to the Screening area and then to the Karaoke area. They were playing Witchblade and then Mai Otome. Both series were good based on the 1st episode and I intend to get the series when the boxset it releeased in the near future. Karaoke was fun as well. No, no, no, I didn’t sing, I just enjoyed listening to other people sing. lol

Karaoke room. Poor lighting again. T_T

Karaoke room. Poor lighting again. T_T

Screening room. They were showing Mai Otome.

Screening room. They were showing Mai Otome.

Also, I checked out the arts and craft and japanese doll making workshop. I’m not into these workshops but I don’t mind taking a peek and seeing what other people can create. ^^

Japanese doll making area. Pretty empty if u ask me.

Japanese doll making area. Pretty empty if u ask me.

Note for Sale.

Doll Display Stall. PS: Note for Sale.

Doll photography shoots. I wish they had a figure photography event.

Doll photography shoots. I wish they had a figure photography event.

You maybe wondering why I didn’t stay for the whole cosplay event? Well, cosplay events aren’t really my thing and I already took most of the cosplayers anyway before they went on stage. Considering I don’t get front row seats like M12, my shots are gonna turn out blurry anyway with this dogey camera so I just couldn’t be bothered in the first place.
As for the skits, well, M12 took most of them including some dance performance before the main cosplay event so free to check them all out on his youtube page. Here are just a few favourite of mind.

After the main cosplay event, the WCS finalist too centre stage. They were chosen from all over Australia to compete for the 1st prize, a trip to Japan to represent Australia at the WCS in Japan. I’m sure one of their goals was to have fun as well.
Here are just some of the finalist and why they were chosen. Courtesy to M12 again for videos. ^^


My favourite. ^^

CSC Love. They were doing a Sakura Taisen skit.

CSC Love. They were doing a Sakura Taisen skit. For more details, ask M12 as he knows his old skool stuff.

The guys from Dynasty Warriors. I got a better photo of them before they went on stage.

The guys from Dynasty Warriors. I got a better photo of them before they went on stage.

A couple Chi from Cobits (I think)

A couple Chi from Chobits (I think)

Two guys from Air Gear

Two guys from Air Gear

I don’t know how they managed to get into the finals for the WCS. Their skit was basically rollerblading and singing “Skater Boy” by Avril Lavigne. 0_o

Here’s the rest of the cosplay photos
Note: Due to poor lighting and a dogey camera, I was forced to use the flash or it would have turned out a blur. Some turned out good with and without flash and some just couldn’t be fixed, even with photoshop. I picked the best ones so enjoy. ^^

Tomoyo from Tsubasa Chronicle

Tomoyo from Tsubasa Chronicle

Link for The Legend of Zelda

Link for The Legend of Zelda

Lala and her pal from ToLoveRu

Lala and her pal from ToLoveRu

Tomoyo from Clannad.

Tomoyo from Clannad.

M12 screamed like a little girl when he saw her. =D

The Gang from School Rumble!

The Gang from School Rumble!

A kool wolf hunter

A kool wolf hunter

Emma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo.

Emma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo.

An unfocused shot which turned out well depicting her surrounding from the series. ^^

3

Suigintou and Shinku from Rozen Maiden. Love them. :3

They were one of the contestants for the WCS. Sadly, they didn’t win. I think I was the only one rooting for them. T_T

Hitman Reborn group.

Hitman Reborn group.

Ouran Highschool group.

Ouran Highschool group.

C.C. and Lulu from Code Geass

C.C. and Lulu from Code Geass

Nozomu Itoshiki and one of his students from Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei

Nozomu Itoshiki and one of his students from Sayonara Zetsubō Sensei

Al from FMA

Al from FMA

A group from Azumanga Daioh. I think one of them is Chiyo-chan

A group from Azumanga Daioh. I think one of them is Chiyo-chan

The girl on the left is from Demonbane.

The girl on the left is from Demonbane.

And last but not least

Lucky me. xD

Lucky me. xD

This was only possible when we saw them at the exit. M12 took the opportunity to interview them for his article while I took opportunity to get a photo with them. Due to poor lighting, the photo didn’t turn out very well so I did a bit of editing myself. Courtesy goes to M12 again. He knows I’m a huge Rozen Maiden fanboy because I show it to him in front of his face. XD
They are not winners in the WCS final but they are winners in my eyes. ^^

At the end of day, M12 and I had dinner in the city. We talked more about maids and H-scenes but at the same time, we ‘kept it real’. =D

17 Responses to "Sydney Animania 2008: Day 1"

That Tomoyo cosplayer really ruined the image O_o …

Lol~ I love that last shot, shame it turned out blurry u_u
I’m sure they’ll try again next year =D

It was good to see each other on Sunday hehe~ but I’ll leave any comments for your next entry :p

I won’t have much to report, but I’ll be linking you since you’ve got Saturday and more photos than me. I’m looking forward to your Sunday report too~

I’ll be sure to remember you next time as well as tdomj.
I agree with the food. Tasteless and terrible…not to mention expensive. Hopefully some more vendors next time.

spider cat!? O_O

Some nice cosplays you got there ^^. Chiyo-chan is cute and my fav. is Suigintou.

I can imagine M12 is screaming like a little girl when he saw Tomoyo XD.

Food at convention is always overpriced XD and the taste is not even that good. I usually go somewhere else to get food and next convention, I probably will bring my own food to save $$$ for figures lol.

haha, here I was thinking that you didn’t post a pic of yourself this time. -till I saw the last photo. I almost spit coke all over my keyboard.

The cosplay of Suigintou is really good, I like it alot. ^.^
The wedding dress of Yuna looks great too, really well made.

Hmm, I still wanted to see a photo of reijin, oh well. xD

I DID NOT SCREAM LIKE A – … Yeah I did.

Yeah video quality always drops on YouTube.

Hell yeah we always keep it real ;D! MAIDS AND CAKE.

Baha, mikuru is one of my rl friends :3

Hi! It’s Mikuru! Yeah, I know Reijin irl, but by a different name :3 Thanks for taking my picture!

Maybe a picture of me… :P I might point it out lols.

@sonic
She doesn’t look that bad IMO. ^^

@Koshiko
lol, no worries. It was nice meeting with u as well.
I hope they try next year because there is a good chance they might win (I hope)

@Bubby
I can easily remember u. The guy with the big camera. There aren’t many in the first place. lol
I’m gonna have a little rant about the vendors in my next post.

@gordon
where!?

@Saku
oh man, he did more than that. lol
Sadly, we are not allowed to bring food from the outside. Even drinks as well except water. Luckily, I managed to sneak in some cans of soft drinks. ^^

@solwyvern
make a mental note, everytime u read my convention post, don’t drink. xD
Yeah, the Suigintou outfit looked really good. I liked both either way.
I don’t think I got reijin approval.

@M12
Maids and Cake are the best combo in the world. xD

@reijin
Nice. U should cosplay as well next year. =D

@mikurubeam
Hi there. Oh, don’t worry, I know his real name lol
The pleasure all urs.

Woaa lol Animania looks pretty big lol xD!! And pretty packed as well lol! xD! Was Sunday as packed as Saturday or Saturday had alot more people? lol xD Most probable lol xD

Lolol! wow lol the two(last pic xD!) who made the rozen maiden costumes made it really well lol xD they look good lol (presuming they made it lol xD)

Holy shoot.. Than Suigintou and Shinku was awesome!!

[…] Day 1 coverage can be found here. […]

@wassabi: yep, it was pretty big! Loved it.
@optic: uh, what would I go as? O_O

@Parkland
Welcome.
I know, they are pretty impressive. Makes me wonder if I can make something like that.

@wassabi
Hey there. Glad to see u here.
There was more ppl on saturday due to the fact it was the first day of the event.

@e-jump
Pity they didn’t win. I wanted them to win. T_T

@reijin
Kyon maybe. I think u were the idea person for it. xD

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

