OpTicZone

Small DVD loot

Posted on: August 21, 2008

Been really busy with work this week as I need to do my 40hrs before the weekend. As some of you may already know, Animania is on this weekend and I will be attending for both days. I will be meeting up with M12 and hopefully with Koshiko as well on one of those days. Just like SMASH!, I will be providing some coverage so look forward to it sometime next week.

In the meantime, just a small DVD loot I picked up at JB-HIfi last thursday. They were having a “Buy 2 get 1 free” sale on a few selected movies. There were a few selected anime movies in the bunch for eg. Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. I think the sale goes on for 2 weeks so do check it out at your nearest JB.

Well, the photo aboves say’s it all. Got The Lord of the Ring Trilogy and Tales from Earthsea each for $12.95. I reckon it was a good deal as I got one of these movies for free. I love Hayao Miyazaki works. The are amazing and heart warming. Still, my all time favourite will have to be Laputa – Castle in the Sky. Which Studio Ghibli film was your favourite?

As for Lord of the Rings, well I’ve been meaning to get it for ages but was never bothered. Actually, I think I was waiting for the best price and when I saw it as part of the deal, I just grabbed it and went to the counter. lol

EDIT: Gedo Senki makes his debut as the  new director of this film. Dam, found out this film won the Worst Film and Worst Director awards at the 2007 Bunshun Raspberry Awards. @_@ (Thanks James for the update) ^^

12 Responses to "Small DVD loot"

I’ve only seen Spirited Away from Studio Ghibli lol…sad I know, but that’s enough to say that S.A. was bloody good, loved every single part of it. Anyways hf at Animania buddy ;p

Oh nice , did see the LOTR movies but didn’t see Tales of Earthsea … but it’s not from the same Miyazaki , now it’s the son who makes the movies ;)

People said that it’s far from his father works so it must not be that great … so please tell me what do you think of it :p

Only ever saw LotR. And have never watched any Studio Ghibli films before ^^; Theres a convention happening this weekend in Vancouver as well and I’ll be there. Only difference is that I’m there to work T_T

Looking forward to reading your coverage, maybe we can compare notes. Though I can pretty much guarantee that yours will be a blast whereas mine will be a blah :p Really sad last minute changes and poor dissemination of info for us, gonna be one horrid weekend for me =(

@noel
haha, I really should watch Spirited Away. I’ve delayed for far too long.

@James.
Thanks for the update. I was half asleep doing this post. Will let u know about my verdict. ^^

@shino
Studio Ghibli films are one of a kind. U really should give them a try. I tend not to volunteer as I want to have fun. Maybe one day I will when I had enough fun.
Looking to forward to ur coverage. Don’t say my one will be better as u never know I might write a lazy post. lol

@Rokku
Thanks. One of the best films ever.

Never really had the chance to watch Studio Ghibli films, but have always been hearing about it. I guess I’m just to lazy to actively search for their stuff, but I definitely will give it a shot should it just plop into my lap ^^;

I wish I was there as a volunteer as well just so I can have the little bit more fun. But sadly, I’m there as part of the vendors so I’m permanently stuck at one spot for the entire duration =/ So no matter how lazy you are when writing your post, yours will definitely sound more fun than mine I suspect ^^;

oooh nice! is tales from earthsea any good? I have yet to see it. My ultimate favourite would probably have to be Howls moving castle and totoro coming in not far behind! love them ^_^
Have fun at Animania! I was going to go but I’ve been sick :( can’t wait to see pictures.. hope the weather clears up for you.

Hey~! Still no idea what to wear for tomorrow, lol~! No worries, I’ll find you ;D

As for which Ghibli film I liked most… I can’t say xD;; But especially loved the following more so than any of the others I’ve seen (in no particular order):
Kiki’s Delivery Service, Totoro, Whispers of the Heart, Laputa, Lupin III: Castle of Cagliostro & Howl’s Moving Castle…
That’s half of what I’ve seen so far lol~

See you tomorrow~

Lord of the Rings is one of my favourite movies. Especially Return of the King :D.

Whoa, wait, there’s a Ghibli film I haven’t seen? And with an interesting title like Tales From Earth Sea? Now I’m curious. I personally like Kiki’s Delivery Service, Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, and Nausicaa.

u should get the LOTR extended editons with hours of new footage!

@shino
lol, I get what u mean. Hope u had a good time as well.

@Nomad
I haven’t got the chance to watch it yet. Poor u. Well, hope u can attend next year event. ^^

@Koshiko
It was very nice meeting u. Finding u was a bit tricky due to the noise. Too bad I missed ur karaoke. I really wanted to see it. T_T

@TDOMJ
Same here. ^^

@Persocom
I have yet to check out Princess Mononoke. I heard it was like Star Wars.

@gordon
it’s ok. I’m happy I got the films finally.

Leave a Reply

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

